Filming for the first time.

This is a forum about filmmaking. No tech discussions here!
craighaylett

Filming for the first time.

Post by craighaylett »

Basically I am very new to filmmaking with "Film" I have a Elmo Super8mm Cine Camera. It is a beautiful camera and will be shooting a short silent movie next year. One question that I have which is strange and probably a stupid question, but "If you don't ask, you don't get"

When shooting with mycamera. You have o be around 2 metres from your subject. I understand this. But, If for example, the subject was say, 15 meters away and I was zoomed in so the subject was very close, would it remain in focus. I am unsure because what's seen in the viewfind isn't exactly what will be seen on film. I am used to working with DV so know all about Shooting and focusing with DV. Just not sure if the same applies to film.

Thanks
Kay O. Sweaver

Post by Kay O. Sweaver »

Your zoom will have no impact on your focus at all, the two are largely independent (technically your depth of field will change slightly when you zoom but the actual focus plane remains the same). In fact when focussing you should zoom in as close as you can, then zoom out to your desired focal length. You'll get sharper focus this way.

Mind you I find that many super 8 cameras have very poor TTL focusing if they have it at all. I typically trust the markings on my focusing ring more than I trust the viewfinder.

Best of luck! Don't hesitate. Shoot something today!
craighaylett

thanx

Post by craighaylett »