Introduction and a Kodak 16mm magazine project

Technical talk about 8mm, Super8, 9.5mm, 16mm and 35mm ++ motion picture cameras.

Moderator: Andreas Wideroe

Phil_F_NM

Introduction and a Kodak 16mm magazine project

Post by Phil_F_NM »

Hello all, I'm Phil. I've been a still photographer for about 25 years. Did 8 years in the US Navy, the last three were as a photographer with combat engineers.
So, I'm a tinkerer and love to build project cameras, shoot with them and either keep them or pass them on to someone who will.
Our last winter freeze close to the new year got myself and my girlfriend thinking about doing motion picture. She's taking a digital video class in college and asked about the feasibility of shooting motion picture film. We got to researching stuff and found her a nice working Elmo C300 super 8. Being the mechanical geek I am, I started lurking around the internet and have decided on a Bell & Howell 70 (DR, DL, DE) that can shoot 1R film. I found on on the 'bay, bought it and started looking for lenses. I also found that occasionally there are some nice optics attached to Kodak 16mm magazine cameras. I got two Cine Ektars which I can adapt to C-mount when the camera arrives. The B&H sale was canceled by the seller so I'm back to looking for a serious 16mm that shoots 100ft rolls. In the meantime, I have this Cine Kodak Royal Magazine so I want to see what can be done with it.