Organic Film Effect

Forum covering all aspects of small gauge cinematography! This is the main discussion forum.

Moderator: Andreas Wideroe

SuperOcho

Organic Film Effect

Post by SuperOcho »

Hi,
I'm fairly new to the Super 8mm format. I've only shot color neg and b&w reversal, telecined on a Rank at Spectra.

I've noticed that in many Super 8mm films, there is an effect where the film briefly turns reddish, yet not at full opacity. You can still see the footage as the reddish look passes over the screen and then vanishes just as quickly as it appeared. Almost like it was overexposed.

An example of what I'm talking about appears at the start of the movie "The Game" which has about 2 minutes of Super 8 footage, seen here:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yGPix7kX ... re=related

I find this effect desirable as it lends to the imperfection look of the format. What causes this to occur? Also in the footage above there is some flicker, so I'm wondering if this was telecined using the film-chain technique?
BK

Re: Organic Film Effect

Post by BK »

I am pretty sure everything was created digitally in post. It was filmed with 35mm and "bastardized" to create that bad home movie look. You can tell when you see the perfs in a few frames of this opening sequence.

Organic 8mm doesn't look like this at all.

The film flashes you refer to is edge or frame fogging that you get when using 8mm or 16mm roll film.

Bill
fastwind

Post by fastwind »

You can get that reddish - yellow fogging on the frame by shining a flashlight