HELP! ?'s about operating a Quarz Zoom Camera

Forum covering all aspects of small gauge cinematography! This is the main discussion forum.

Moderator: Andreas Wideroe

Komsomol

HELP! ?'s about operating a Quarz Zoom Camera

Post by Komsomol »

I am a hobbyist beginner just getting started with 8mm. I purchased a Quarz Zoom, looks just like this one -

http://www.ussrphoto.com/wiki/default.a ... tentID=494

I loaded it with a 25 foot roll (7.5m) of Super Cine X black and white reversal film. ASA 200 daylight.

My first question is - the settings. I'm going to be shooting in pretty much bright sunlight. So, should I set the ASA to 100 and the f-stop to 16 or 22? Also i have filters for it, so should I use the yellow filter for outdoor bright light shooting?

Here is my biggest, and probably dumbest question. What I really don't understand is focusing the lens. If you look through the viewfinder images become closer if you operate the 'zoom' lever. However it appears the viewfinder is essentially like a rangefinder, you are not looking at object via the lens, but just through the viewfinder. so - how do i focus the lens if the image never changes from blurry to sharp or from two to one no matter how I adjust the zoom lens ring?

thanks for your help.
BAC

Re: HELP! ?'s about operating a Quarz Zoom Camera

Post by BAC »